You can’t deny the fact that we had an exciting season with Perth Glory clinching their first-ever A-League title. They finished eight points clear and lost just three matches. Tony Popovich’s men seem keen on reclaiming their lost glory of the National Soccer League days. But will they remain at the top next season? In this article, we look at the teams which are favourites to claim the first three positions in Hyundai’s A-League.

In the 2019/2020 season, Perth Glory, Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory are the favourites to finish first, second and third. The big question is, in which order?

Perth Glory

The defending champions will definitely have the morale to kick off the season on a high note. However, it will be hard for the first-time A-League champions to retain position one. This is, even though they have acquired fresh blood from Brisbane Roar and Sydney FC. With five years heading out, the 2018/2019 A-League winners might falter but won’t fall out of the top three.

Melbourne Victory

With a new German tactician and full financial backing from the board, Melbourne Victory is on their way back to the top. The club is losing five players including the sensational Japanese, Keisuke Honda. With already Jay Barnett from Brisbane Roar in the team, we expect a major overhaul which will bring up a league-winning squad.

Sydney FC

However, Melbourne won’t have what it takes to bring home the league, so our favourites are Sydney FC who have lost several players. However, the club has recruited four top players, including Anthony Caceres from Manchester City and Ryan McGowan from Bradford City. Kosta Barbarouses and Alexander Baumjohann will also be great assets to the campaign.

With the new season fast approaching, every team is looking to strengthen their squads. Right now, we are having among the busiest transfer season in A-League’s history.